Each varsity to have 200 affiliated colleges

27 September 2013, 9:27 am Written by 
Published in News
Read 2523 times

Apart from the existing Bangalore University, two new universities will be established in two different zones of the city. Colleges in each zone will be affiliated to the respective university; each will have 200 colleges affiliated to it. 


The chief minister will appoint vice-chancellors for the two new universities. After the first V-Cs retire, their successors will be appointed by the governor. The existing BU staff can be deployed among these two universities or new staff can be recruited. Each university will have a different calendar of academic events.The two new varsities can either follow the syllabus offered by the existing BU or frame a new syllabus, and also conduct examinations on different dates. A minimum of 100 acres is required to establish one university. The new varsities will offer both postgraduate and undergraduate programmes.


After the establishment of the Women's University, many women's colleges were affiliated to it. Similarly after trifurcation, many colleges affiliated to BU will be affiliated to either of the two new universities. It would've been better if they had bifurcated BU, instead of trifurcating it.But we don't have any objection.We request the government to give us the Central College campus as it is the heart and soul of BU and all our major departments and auditorium are on this campus B Thimme Gowda | VICE-CHANCELLOR, BU

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Super User

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliq Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco nisi.

Website: www.joomshaper.com